The Dash of Badasses

4 Oct

Somehow, I got talked into doing this on Saturday:

I’m pretty excited for the obstacles.  I love climbing on things and under things.  I like monkey bars and foam pits and ropes and tires.  Being a not-very-tall person, I was always, as my mother would say “into things”, crawling into cupboards and climbing trees and stuff – I think this Saturday, I’ll get the chance to get into lots of things.

On top of that, I’m running the race with the most badass group of girls I know, skaters from (my league) the Tri-City Roller Girls.  Some of them trained with me to run the Tough Mudder back in August, and I couldn’t turn down the chance to participate in their next bout of craziness.

My Mudders ♥

We’ve been training again to lead up to the race, but not for the race.  I’ve started broader, more derby-focused, offskates conditioning sessions (with a way larger group of skaters – not just racers).  We’ve still been hill sprinting, doing lots of strength training, and generally being awesome, but no distance running.  The girls assure me we won’t actually be running distances.  I am skeptical, but excited.

Regardless, I’m pretty sure it’s going to be an awesome way to spend a fall morning.

So, yes – running a race on Saturday at really-early-o’clock.  Up a ski hill.  Through super-cool obstacles.  With a team of amazing women.

I may have under prepared for the running bits.

2 Responses to “The Dash of Badasses”

  1. Brandon October 4, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    The website says it’s 5-7k with 10-12 obstacles, assuming they are somewhat evenly distributed the distance between then would be about .5k so lack of distance running is probably not a huge concern. Not sure that flat surface running would be anything more than general aerobic development for running up a hill anyway.

    • How We Roll Fitness October 4, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

      Thanks! The other runners also assure me there’s very little running between obstacles. I think it’s more a fear of new things (ie. any races, ever) than a fear of actually being unprepared.

Leave a Reply

