What I’m Reading Today: Off-Season Edition

15 Nov

Today’s post will be a super-short one.  I was working on a post about how I feel about derby and the off-season,  and then this beauty turned up:

TUSH TELLS IT LIKE IT IS

I so very much agree that we need to be taking breaks.  Actual ones.

And I agree that we need to be putting just as much planning into our training schedule as we do our bouting schedule.

Tush knows what she’s talking about.  Most every sport takes time off so that  athletes can recharge, rehab, and recommit. Derby should too.

Give the post a read.  Take a real off-season.  I’ll be back with a way longer post next week.

Have a fantastic Thursday!

4 Responses to “What I’m Reading Today: Off-Season Edition”

  1. Georgia W Tush November 18, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Thanks for posting this lady! xo Tush

  2. Brandon November 20, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    I agree that there should be more thorough planning of the training year. I would like to see the integration of the training plan, where the sport practice, physical preparation, recovery/regeneration, etc are accounted for as a whole, rather than distinct and separate pieces.

    A related article you might enjoy: Considerations of Planning Training

Leave a Reply

