What I’m Reading Today: January Edition

10 Jan

Dear Blogging,

I love and miss you, but I am balls-deep in January.

See you soon,

Laura

CP PHOTO/Jonathan Hayward)

It’s that time of year again, when everyone makes goals to get back on track, to make the big changes, and to be an all-around better person, who has an all-around better year this year than last.

I am among that number, and chances are that you are too.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  Goals are awesome.  Written goals are awesomer.  Relevant, emotionally-engaged, written goals are even awesomer.  Relevant, emotionally-engaged written goals with noted actionable steps on a time line are pretty much the awesomest.

I have a few goals that I mentioned in my last post.  Notably, business-wise to:

  • Develop a solid business plan (which goes hand in hand with really having a clear idea of what I want my business to look like)
  • Quit my day job
  • Find a mentor/inspirational environment/spark

This means that I am hard at work with my action steps.  I am meeting new clients (action step – 1 every 2 weeks), designing new packages (action step – have a fully formed “Rock Your Tights” transformation by February, so that those tights will be rocking by your season opener), designing my website (and looking for good hosting – any suggestions?), taking video and photo content for said site (action step – all the way designed by March).  So, moving forward on figuring out what I want my business to look like, somewhat.

The “quit my day job” and “find a mentor” are challenging.  The day job is busier than it’s ever been, and now does not feel like the time to step away.  If I’m honest with myself, though, it will never feel like the time.  I just have to decide that I’m ready to leap, and leap.

I keep telling myself that “when the student is ready, the teacher will appear”, but I think I have to be more active in seeking out those environments where I am inspired by others.  It happens all the time in derby.  Because I’m reasonably isolated in fitness, training folks by myself, not out of a gym, the times that I meet inspiring people are mostly courses and conferences.  Some of these meetings have turned into awesome contacts, but I need to get after ramping up my networking skills (ACK! says the shy girl who really struggles to talk to strangers when she’s already unsure of her place in this crazy fitness world).  Any way, action step – reach out to those whose genius terrifies me once a month.

Speaking of those whose genius terrifies me, since, as I said, I’m balls-deep in January goal-attainment, here are some articles that I’ve been reading.  These folks are super-smart, and the posts have resonated with me for one reason or another.

mffHere’s a great one from Mark Fisher about the honeymoon phase with fitness (though it could be true of any new lifestyle change). He talks about the crucial difference between a quick start (most transformation programs) and a quick fix (those don’t exist).  We spend years reenforcing the habits that we have, a quick start helps to capitalize on the magic of that first excitement about fitness, but it doesn’t last.  You have to WORK to make it last, just like any relationship worth having.

no-bake-peanut-butter-protein-bars2

 

I will eat ALL the protein this year. These homemade protein bars  from Stumptuous sound tasty.  And easy.  Easy is key.

 

avocado-dressing2-300x300I ate home made guacamole for the very second time on NYE (thanks Slim!), it was awesome.  Now I love avocados.  Here’s a yummy sounding recipe from Neghar for avocado dressing that I will be trying in the near future.   Also, it’s Whole 30 approved.  The month-long program sounds interesting, I’m doing my research before jumping in, but jump I may.

yoga

 

And finally, my super secret goal: I might be a little stressed and control-freaky.  I plan to try yoga this year.  Here, Neghar tells me why that’s a good idea.

What are your goals this January, and how are you getting after them?

3 Responses to “What I’m Reading Today: January Edition”

  1. Julie January 10, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    Awesome post. I need to get going with writing my goals. You have inspired me to get to work! I am of the same shy person variety and it’s always good to hear there are others who have the same issues. The fear of failure tends to hold me back from my goals, so I guess that will be my first goal……Do not let fear beat me! Love your posts!

    • How We Roll Fitness January 10, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

      I hear you, Julie!

      As one of my very smart friends says, “Feel the fear, do it anyway”. I have to tell myself all the time that my worst-case scenario, the one where I totally embarrass myself, is temporary and probably not that bad, and that what I gain from taking action is going to be far more permanent and valuable.

      Get after your goals, no matter how scary they seem!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 Days, 30 Decisions « Weight Plates and Roller Skates - January 24, 2013

    […] I mentioned a post or so ago that I might think about trying the Whole […]

Leave a Reply

